Hamilton Herald Masthead


Front Page - Friday, December 4, 2015

50 Years Ago

What was happening in Chattanooga in 1965

Saturday, Dec. 4, 1965

Sibley B. Evans, a member of the faculty of the Baylor School since 1942, has been appointed as headmaster of Cleveland Day School effective June 1, 1966, according to an announcement made Friday by C.M. Hardwick, Jr., chairman of the board of trustees of Cleveland Day School.

The new Downtowner Motel in the Golden Gateway will be officially dedicated Saturday, Jan. 22, with Mayor Kelley scheduled to be the principal speaker, it was disclosed today by J.L. Rainwater, manager.

Sunday, Dec. 5

Dr. Benjamin Gross, head of the chemistry department at the University of Chattanooga, was named “Chemist of the Year” Saturday night by the Chattanooga Section of the American Chemical Society. The group’s highest honor was awarded Dr. Gross at a dinner at Loret Villa. Dr. James M. Holbert, vice president of Chattanooga Medicine Co., made the presentation.

Delegates to the first Southeastern United States Conference of the Experiment in International Living held here Saturday were told that EIL is launching a $1.5 million national development campaign to enlarge its program.

Monday, Dec. 6

The Chattanooga Engineer’s Club at Monday’s meeting at Hotel Patten elected the following officers for 1966: Paul Merriman, president; James Anderson, first vice president; Roy McCollum, second vice president; Don Mills, secretary; and, Manville Mayfield, treasurer. Rufus Obrecht is the retiring president.

William Van Dyke Ochs, Jr., of Chattanooga, was recently promoted to colonel in the Army at ceremonies held in France. Col. Ochs, a graduate of West Point Class of 1945, is currently assigned to the Personnel Division Headquarters, U.S. European Command, located just outside Paris.

Tuesday, Dec. 7

The Phillips-Van Heusen Corp. is planning an addition that will double the size of its present distribution facilities here, A.J. DiPietro, manager of the Chattanooga Warehouse, announced. The company distributes its full line of products from Chattanooga into all 50 states.

The annual election of officers for the Chattanooga and Hamilton County Medical Society was held during Tuesday’s night meeting in the auditorium of Interstate Building. Dr. Frank R. Graham is president-elect; Dr. George G. Young is incoming president; Dr. Durwood L. Kirk is secretary and treasurer; Dr. John M. Higason is past president, and Dr. C. Robert Clark is retiring secretary-treasurer.

Wednesday, Dec. 8

Three executive promotions were announced by the Hamilton National Bank following the regular monthly meeting of the board of directors. J.E. Whitaker, chairman of the board, announced the following promotions: Ben M. Rawlings, Jr., elected vice president, national accounts division; B. Franklin Davis IV, assistant vice president; and Charles Duffy Franck, Jr., also elected assistant vice president.

Thursday, Dec. 9

Commissioner McInturff, on behalf of the city, has agreed to maintain on a permanent basis the proposed landscaping of four streets in the Golden Gateway, Norman Watson, executive director of the Chattanooga Housing Authority, said.

Friday, Dec. 10

Deserved recognition as “Man of the Year” has come to a distinguished Chattanoogan W.E. Brock, Jr. Honor has followed honor, as Mr. Brock was nominated Tuesday by the Chattanooga Kiwanis Club for that organization’s Distinguished Service Award, the unanimous choice of the award committee for the honor. One week earlier, Mr. Brock had received a commemorative plaque as one of eight national semi-finalists in the annual Lane Bryant competition for outstanding volunteer community service in 1964. Earlier this year, the Chattanooga Bar Association had conferred the Liberty Bell Award upon him in recognition of his community service.