Hamilton Herald Masthead


Front Page - Friday, May 22, 2020

PEF announces 2020-21 STEM teaching fellows

The Public Education Foundation has selected 34 teachers from the Southeast Tennessee region to participate in the ninth cohort of STEM Fellows during the 2020-21 academic year.

The STEM Fellowship is an annual cohort of K-12 educators who engage in a year of professional learning focused on developing and implementing a STEM, or STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics), mindset.

The fellowship is led by the PEF Innovation Hub in partnership with Hamilton County Schools, the Benwood Foundation and the Tennessee STEM Innovation Network.

The STEM Fellowship includes a site visit to STEM School Chattanooga, visits to the Tennessee Aquarium and Volkswagen, and practice walkthroughs in each school pursuing STEM designation.

Twenty-two schools earned Tennessee STEM School Designation for 2020. Hamilton County Schools led the way with five – Harrison Elementary, Hixson Middle, Normal Park Museum Magnet, Red Bank Elementary and Red Bank High.

Each of these schools spent the last year developing and documenting practices that marked them as “beacons of excellence for STEM education,” says the PEF in a news release.

The STEM Fellows 9.0 Cohort includes:

  • Molly Anderson, DuPont Elementary
  • Nickey Ankar, Lookout Valley Elementary
  • Justin Black, Chattanooga High School Center for Creative Arts
  • Owen Bogolin, Orchard Knob Middle
  • Allison Bynum, Charleston Elementary STEAM Academy
  • Dana Carmody, Westview Elementary
  • Megan Cobb, East Ridge Elementary
  • Scott Dent, Sale Creek Middle/High
  • Lauren Denton, Red Bank Elementary
  • Lisa Dunn, Sale Creek Middle/High
  • Nicole Dyer, East Ridge High
  • Haley Graham, Westview Elementary
  • Lauren Hagan, Hixson Middle
  • Quailla Hatcher, Bess T. Shepherd
  • Lory Heron, STEM School Chattanooga
  • Samantha Jones, Middle Valley Elementary
  • Patti Jones, East Lake Academy of Fine Arts
  • Jasmine Montgomery, Tyner Academy
  • Olivia Myers, Big Ridge Elementary
  • Henry Oston, Tyner Academy
  • Symone Pryce, Brainerd High
  • Tara Rollins, STEM School Chattanooga
  • Karen Schmidt, Big Ridge Elementary
  • Angela Shaver, Rhea County High
  • Dara Smiley-Lacy, Lookout Valley Elementary
  • Julie Spino, McConnell Elementary
  • Rhonda Taylor, Soddy Daisy Middle
  • Jamika Walker, Spring Creek Elementary
  • Nicole Webb, Westview Elementary
  • Melody Wilkerson, East Lake Academy of Fine Arts

Source: PEF