Hamilton Herald Masthead Hamilton Herald


Front Page - Friday, August 9, 2019

Tickets on sale for Symphony & Opera's 2019-2020 season

Single tickets for the Chattanooga Symphony & Opera’s 2019-20 season are on sale to the general public. The lineup for the organization’s 87th season features iconic classical works, guest performers and an emphasis on female composers.

“I’m looking forward to introducing some exciting artists to Chattanooga, including guest pianist Steven Lin on Rachmaninoff’s ‘Piano Concerto No. 3,’ Thomas Landschoot on Haydn’s ‘Cello Concerto No. 1’ and String Theory’s Gloria Chien on ‘Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 2,’” says CSO Music Director Kayoko Dan.

“Throughout the season, you’ll hear beloved masterworks such as Beethoven’s ‘Symphony No. 5,’ Mussorgsky’s ‘Pictures at an Exhibition’ and Ravel’s ‘Daphnes and Chloe.’

‘In addition, we’re featuring seven female composers, including Lili Boulanger, Wang Jie and Gabriela Lena Frank, to name a few.”

Barnett & Company Masterworks Series

The Barnett & Company Masterworks Series will open with Shostakovich and Rachmaninoff on Sept. 26 and continue with ‘Miraculous Mandarin,’ ‘Daphnis and Chloe,’ ‘Dona Nobis Pacem’ with the CSO Chorus, Lee University Chorale and UTC Chamber Singers, and ‘Pictures at an Exhibition.’

The Barnett & Company Masterworks Series will also feature Beethoven’s ‘Fifth Symphony’ and his ‘Piano Concerto No. 2’ in celebration of the composer’s 250th birthday in 2020.

Pops Series

The Pops Series will open with ‘An Evening with Bernadette Peters’” on Oct. 12.

The series will also bring film scores to life in ‘Lights! Camera! Pops!’ and give audiences the opportunity to hear some of rock and roll’s greatest hits in a new way with ‘Michael Cavanaugh: The Music of Billy Joel & More.’

The 2019-20 Pops series will also include Chattanooga’s holiday music tradition, ‘Home for the Holidays,’ as well as the popular annual swing concert, ‘Big Band Fever.’

Chamber Series

The Chamber Series will include Beethoven’s ‘Symphony No. 2,’ Mozart’s ‘Quintet for Piano and Winds,’ Mozart’s ‘Symphony No. 41’ and ‘The American Four Seasons’ by living composer, Philip Glass.

The Chattanooga Ballet will also choreograph and perform to Stravinsky’s ‘Apollo Musagete.’

Tickets and subscriptions can be purchased at www.chattanoogasymphony.org or by calling 423 267-8583.

Source: CSO